John Lennon’s Dark Genius

OK, that title may be slightly over the top. Basically, I want to explore a couple of John Lennon compositions and go from there. The first one is the well-known Beatles hit “Nowhere Man”. It was released as a single in 1965 and appeared on the album Rubber Soul. (I once read an album review which described the album’s sound as “wood and smoke”. I wish I could take credit for that, but I can’t.) Nevertheless, it’s one of many great songs written by Lennon and recorded by The Beatles. I don’t think I’ve ever heard any demo or solo version of this one. The brilliant harmony may take some of the edge off the song’s overall vibe of desperation.

The story goes Lennon had been consciously trying to write something for hours on end and then just gave up — he felt “like a Nowhere Man”. This is one song I’d love to have heard him record again. (Paul McCartney experimented with a few MACCA compositions on “Give My Regards to Broad Street” for example. ) There are a couple of covers of “Nowhere Man” which are worth mentioning. The first one appeared on the all Beatles cover/soundtrack to “I Am Sam” (starring Sean Penn) and was recorded by Paul Westerberg (The Replacements).

You could definitely call it a more melancholy interpretation of the original, but I feel it does the song justice. If you hear “Nowhere Man” as a country song, you’re not the only one. Randy Travis recorded this version for an album called “Come Together: America Salutes The Beatles”.



I didn’t grow up on country music, but Randy Travis was a well-known singer/musician so it’s interesting to hear his take on it. He’s had his share of trouble with the law so it may be an appropriate song for him. Despite the desperation in the lyrics, the song does mention that the world is at the Nowhere Man’s command and that somebody else will lend him a hand.

Another perhaps lesser known song in the same vein is “I Don’t Want to Spoil the Party”, which was on 1964’s Beatles For Sale. It’s another one of Lennon’s dark takes on his state of mind and the world around him. He basically admits he’s pissed off at this woman, doesn’t want to be at this party, but he still loves her.

Again, the musical arrangement is very country, especially the guitar solo. I think the brilliance or genius of both these songs is Lennon’s willingness to admit and honestly share his raw emotions. (No I’m not into chick flicks.) It’s one thing to have those feelings and even admit them, but it’s an altogether different thing to be able to write about them and relate them to someone else. At the times when you feel the most desperate, does it give you comfort to know someone feels the same way? Think of how many parties he must have attended during The Beatles. Sure, lots of them were probably a blast, but this song expresses that feeling of being at one and just being pissed off at the situation, if not the world.

Till next time, keep your Mojo on the Horizon!

3 thoughts on “John Lennon’s Dark Genius

  1. Good examples… “I’ll Cry Instead” would fit maybe in it also. You are right with Nowhere Man…the vocals do smooth some of the desperation and isolation out of the song.

    The thing to me about Nowhere Man is…many songwriters would have ruined it by writing…
    Doesn’t have a point of view
    Knows not where he’s going to
    Isn’t he a bit like ME and You?… Instead of You and me…. keeping the view, to and you rhyme.

    Breaking it up with “me” makes it more strong and unexpected. Little things mean a lot.
    I like the Paul Westerberg version.

    Like

  2. The guys I play with some come over and we play once a month or so. We tried Nowhere Man…those vocals are damn near impossible for us anyway. The bass is a lot of fun in it though.
    You are right…you can rearrange it and get by with it. Beatle songs lend themselves to that. I went to the Bluebird Cafe in Nashville one night and I saw a guy play A Day In The Life on just acoustic…it works.

    Like

Leave a comment